Psalms 71

Spent some time in the word this morning and Psalms 71 really stuck out.   Let me just highlight a thought or two. 

The Psalmist is talking about how recently his life has been extremely tough.  He mentions more than once that God has been is refuge and hope.  Check out how the Psalmist handles the tough times in life when even his enemies say God has Forsaken Him. 

10 For my enemies speak concerning me; those who watch for my life consult together 11 and say, “God has forsaken him; pursue and seize him, for there is none to deliver him.”….14 But I will hope continually and will praise you yet more and more. 15 My mouth will tell of your righteous acts, of your deeds of salvation all the day, for their number is past my knowledge. 16 With the mighty deeds of the Lord God I will come; I will remind them of your righteousness, yours alone.

That challenges me.  Life is tough and the Psalmist say still I will praise you. I will still let people know that you are GOD and You are good.  May I say that in my times of trouble. 

Read these verses and really think about them.  This I believe is the Faith that we are called to have.  I think this is the faith that Job had.  

20 You who have made me see many troubles and calamities will revive me again; from the depths of the earth you will bring me up again. 21 You will increase my greatness and comfort me again.22 I will also praise you with the harp for your faithfulness, O my God; I will sing praises to you with the lyre,
O Holy One of Israel. 23 My lips will shout for joy, when I sing praises to you;
my soul also, which you have redeemed. 24 And my tongue will talk of your righteous help all the day long…

Hows your praise?  Do you only praise Him in the good?  Biblical Faith praises Him no matter what happens in your life.   Listen to this Gospel Song.  Make sure you read the words to the video. 

2 Responses

  1. Awesome song! It was very much needed in my heart today! Thanks for posting it!
    Missy

  2. One of the biggest things I lack in my life is having trust in God. I only became devoted to my faith and the way I live my life after going to the El Faro missions trip. But the one thing that has crippled my faith is having that trust in God. I always tell myself “look at all He blessed you with. What He has done for you. What He shall do. How can you not trust Him?” Before becoming a Christian, I always looked at things in a very analytical way. From my decisions to my train of thought. I still hold this way of thinking in my mind, but thank God my morals have finally become concrete. My train of thought consistng of modern day ethics, well-held Christian beliefs, and analysis has proved useful, but damaging. Even though I don’t always WANT to follow my Christian beliefs, I always find myself obeying the Word of God. Ethics has yet to fail me. Taking everything into analysis has its perks, but only questions my faith. Being analytical has allowed me to find a deeper meaning in things; be it song lyrics, praising God, discussing certain topics, or my strong point of view on things, it has helped me. On the other hand, it has me question whether or not I should do something. “Am I just doing this to recieve a blessing from God later on down the road? If I start being more ‘real’ will I only offend and ward others off? Should I really bother praying if there’s no guarentee He will answer my prayers? What were to happen if everything I believe in is simply fallacy? What is the guarentee that there really is a Heaven and Hell? Why doesn’t Jesus take his church back home now? Being too analytical has made me who I am today, but it has also kept my old self alive as well. He shall never forsake us. I love hearing that, but it makes me wonder…

Leave a Reply

